CRPS student honored
Posted on 07/13/2021
Hunter Eichorn, Safety Patroller of the Year
Crystal River Primary School fifth-grader, Hunter Eichhorn was selected among thousands of Florida students as the 2020-21 “AAA Safety Patroller of the Year.”
The Citrus County School Board honored Hunter during the start of their regular school board meeting Tuesday afternoon. His family was in the audience as well as members of the Citrus County Sheriff's Office. CCSO partners with us to bring the safety patrol program to our schools.
Hunter is co-captain of CRPS’s Safety Patrol squad and oversees student safety at bus and parent pick-up and drop-off lines. Hunter also helps create safety videos for students and reminds kids of safety initiatives during the school's morning show.
Matt Nasworthy, Florida public affairs director for the AAA Auto Club Group presented Hunter with a plaque. Hunter also received a $300 gift card. CRPS received a plaque as well and backpacks filled with pencil bags, hats, pins, flags, and other items.
Each year, schools are invited to nominate patrollers for the award. Eichhorn was nominated for the award by Tiffany Swain, CRPS pre-k teacher, and Safety Patrol sponsor.
Way to represent CRPS and our District, Hunter! We know you'll do great things in the future!
You can watch the full presentation by clicking on this link::